Thread: Planning ahead: Are Dell'Orto DHLB 35 carbs worth it?

Downloads
    Uploads

Planning ahead: Are Dell'Orto DHLB 35 carbs worth it?

At some point in the (hopefully near) future, I want to upgrade my 73 Fulvia Motecarlo's engine, or get an already upgraded one. The focus will be on balance and driveability, but with a little extra power. I'm thinking:
    • re-bore to 80mm
    • high-compression pistons
    • porting
    • balanced conrods
    • balanced rockers
    • retain the standard airbox and standard look

Now to my question: what's your advice regarding carbs for such a project? I'm not experienced with carbs at all, so I'll have to find and pay someone for the setup, finding the correct jetting, rolling road test. Given the (lack of) access to the jets and (so I've been told) limited tuneability of the Solexes, and my intention to keep the airbox if at all possible, it appears that finding a pair of Dell'Orto DHLB 35 would be the ideal solution. But is that worth it, given that they probably won't be cheap (and provided I manage to find a pair)?

And what would be a reasonable price? The last I've seen (in this forum), there was a pair being sold in the UK for 400 British Pound back in 2014.

Thanks for any advice. Marnix, I think I'm looking at you

Bernt

Downloads
    Uploads

Re: Planning ahead: Are Dell'Orto DHLB 35 carbs worth it?

Bernt, I have read your message. I am quite honored you think I am the one that can answer all your questions, but I am not so sure myself I really can.

A few general remarks first. I will maybe have to come back later with more details.

1. I have no experience really with tuning, I limit myself to get them back into shape in standard configuration. So I can't contribute much to that aspect.