PDA

View Full Version : Craig's List: NY CL fulvia



RogerD
20th November 2009, 02:05 PM
http://newyork.craigslist.org/lgi/cto/1470990439.html

certainly going for top dollar.

1,6 HF
20th November 2009, 02:47 PM
Thanks for posting this.

Top dollar? Depends on what it really is. I've asked the seller for the chassis numnber and engine number, but based on what I can see, I'd say it may be a better price than you think.

RogerD
20th November 2009, 02:51 PM
OK, I'm ignorant of details, just thought it was a straight up coupe as described. Is that an "HF" in the front grille?

1,6 HF
20th November 2009, 05:27 PM
For now, I think all I'll say is 'details matter'.

ncundy
20th November 2009, 06:27 PM
For now, I think all I'll say is 'details matter'.

Agree with Ed

It's originally a French car - well travelled (perhaps).

1,6 HF
22nd November 2009, 01:50 PM
OK, I'm ignorant of details, just thought it was a straight up coupe as described. Is that an "HF" in the front grille?

Roger,

I've now been able to finish some investigations and confirm some suspicions. As Neil Cundy also suspected (which is why he was also being careful about his response), the Craigslist listing is not what it seems.

It's a scam.

You're right--that is an "HF" in the grille. And in the photos you'll also notice the large main beams, the lightweight seats and plain rear bench, and the 10,000 rpm tach with "dial-your-own-redline" pointer. All of these are tell-tales signs of a 1.6HF "Fanalone". The seller, however, identifies the engine as a 1300. The seller also says that he's "selling this for my cousin in Italy", and that he wants $35,000 including shipping to the US.

In fact it's a fairly clever scam, in which the seller purposely understates what the car is, to try to lure in a sucker who thinks he’s actually putting one over on an ignorant seller.

The seller's "Italian cousin" must be located in the Japanese-speaking part of Italy, as this car is actually for sale in Tokyo:
http://www.corgys.com/contents/cars/CL-1969_lancia_fulvia_01.htm
Per an e-mail I received this morning, the car is confirmed as still being in Tokyo, and the current asking price is 6,800,000 yen, which translates to approx. US$76,500. That's actually a fairly cheap price for what appears to be a very correct and complete Fanalone "lusso" (the bumpers are included with the car, but not mounted).

In other words, $35,000 would be the steal of the decade if the Craiglist listing was genuine. As it is, it's a steal--literally. The scam has now been reported to Craigslist.

Geoff
22nd November 2009, 02:50 PM
Thanks to Ed for uncovering this. A job well done.

Of course, at $35k, I was looking around for the checkbook, which my wife has hidden well. Better off, I guess.

Glad someone is looking out for us all!

Geoff

ncundy
22nd November 2009, 04:10 PM
Good stuff Ed - price is about par for similar in Europe.

1,6 HF
22nd November 2009, 05:06 PM
price is about par for similar in Europe.

That's probably right; it equates to about 51,500 euros or about GBP 46,300.

It appears to be a nice example, probably a little better than the ones that have been offered at auction in Europe this past year. According to Corgy's it had a complete mechanical overhaul last year, and a partial respray (most of the paint is original). But you're right--it's probably better to characterize it as a "very fair price" rather than a "fairly cheap price".

RdeMasi
22nd November 2009, 05:12 PM
Ed,

The front valance and heater intake are all Series 1 style but I thought the body with the raised sheet metal on the engine compartment wheel wells was indicative of a Series 2 body shell?

Or is this normal when a Series 1 body shell is outfitted with the interior lengthened gearbox housing for the 5 speed?

The master cylinder doesn't appear to be standard but the car has been beautifully done. I agree with Geoff, at $35k a steal.

Ralph

1,6 HF
22nd November 2009, 08:04 PM
Ralph,

The Fanalone body was a modified S1 body shell, with additional triangular cut-outs on either side of the grille, and plastic wheel arch extensions front & rear. The transmission tunnel was lengthened to accommodate a 5-speed gearbox, which is often referred to as a "piggyback" 'box because 5th gear is in an extension added to the rear of the 4-speed; it's completely different than the S2 5-speed 'box. But I don't see anything unusual at all about the sheet metal in the engine compartment.

On this car, the master cylinder has an odd double reservoir, which isn't standard, the windshield washer reservoir isn't the original type, the battery is obviously too modern, and the tires appear to be smaller diameter than standard. There also seems to an odd shroud over the steering column. But other than that the car looks like a correct Fanalone. And I wouldn't for a minute suggest that any of those minor issues should stand in the way of buying it--least of all if it were actually for sale at $35k.

The problem here, as I said, is that there's no car for sale on Craigslist; all you're being sold is $35k worth of scam.

ncundy
23rd November 2009, 12:33 AM
The shroud is an after market steering lock I think. You see quite a few Italian cars of that period with them fitted and they occasionally turn up on Ebay.it

I can't see anything wrong with the metalwork either ?

Will
23rd November 2009, 11:03 PM
Dix Hills is only a few miles from me if any of you guys can get the seller to give you an address to send the check. I could give the local LEOs a heads-up on it, I do know a few of them (car buffs too).

1,6 HF
24th November 2009, 12:48 AM
Will,

It's a good idea, but I've already e-mailed the seller twice, asking for the chassis number, with no response. So I don't think he'd believe an "offer" coming from me.

RogerD
24th November 2009, 10:09 PM
Nice detective work, Ed. It's still posted. I hope CL pulls it before somebody sends their check.

1,6 HF
24th November 2009, 10:32 PM
This morning I received a very nice (if slightly ungrammatical) e-mail from the real seller in Tokyo, who I had also alerted. He indicated that he also contacted Craigslist. But you're right--it's still posted.

And thanks, but I wasn't alone. Neil Cundy spotted this one, too.